Twitter has tried varied strategies of cracking down on trolling and abuse, and it’s now rolling out its newest batch of security measures. The newest change solely lasted just a few hours earlier than it was killed off as a result of protests.

In a seemingly well-intentioned transfer, Twitter determined to now not notify customers after they have been added to lists. The concept was that lists may very well be used as a type of abuse: you may not be capable of message somebody, however you can add them to an inventory referred to as “you are a douchebag”, and they might be notified. However the change didn’t final very lengthy in any respect.

The Twitter Security account proudly proclaimed yesterday that customers would now not be told after they have been added to lists. “We wish you to get notifications that matter. Beginning at present, you will not get notified if you end up added to an inventory.” A flurry of complaints quickly adopted suggesting that checklist notifications have been truly the “final helpful factor about Twitter”.

Earlier than lengthy, Twitter vice chairman of engineering, Ed Ho, responded to those that have been sad, saying:

And fewer than three hours after saying the preliminary change, Twitter Security tweeted that the change was being reversed:

Whereas the choice was typically welcomed, customers replied to the tweet calling for Twitter to “ban Nazis” and to make it simpler to get oneself faraway from lists.

READ  ASUS ProArt PA32U Display: 4K, 1000 Nits Brightness, 95% DCI-P3, 85% Rec. 2020

Picture credit score: Maryna Stamatova / Shutterstock

Source